Comparison
Bondbazaar vs GoldenPi
Bondbazaar and GoldenPi have both been on BSE since early 2023 and both say they charge investors nothing, but Bondbazaar holds bonds in a CDSL demat it opens for you while GoldenPi uses yours. Bondbazaar also lets you place orders on the exchange order book as well as RFQ.
Verified
Lean to Bondbazaar if
You want small-ticket G-secs and the exchange order book in the same app, and a separate CDSL demat does not bother you.
Side by side
| Bondbazaar | GoldenPi | |
|---|---|---|
| Legal entity | Bondbazaar Securities Pvt Ltd source | GoldenPi Securities Pvt Ltd (CIN U65990KA2022PTC164941), a wholly owned subsidiary of GoldenPi Technologies Pvt Ltd source |
| Group or backers | Founded in 2020 by Suresh Darak; bootstrapped with no external equity as of Jul 2025. Board shown under Debtlife Holdings. source | Founded 2017 by Abhijit Roy and Samir Baran Pratihar; Zerodha's Rainmatter has invested. Oxyzo Financial Services announced a 100% acquisition on 19th May 2026 (about ₹42.4 cr share swap); closing not confirmed. source |
| SEBI registration | INZ000303236 (stock broker); also a CDSL DP, DP ID 12096100 source | INZ000310732 (stock broker), NSE member 90331, BSE member 6809 source |
| NSE OBPP status | Enabled since 15th Mar 2023 source | Enabled, with enablement dated 31st Dec 2025 in the list as on 14th Oct 2026 (the file does not explain the late date) source |
| BSE OBPP status | Active since 10th Mar 2023 source | Active since 19th Apr 2023 source |
| Where your bonds sit | In a Bondbazaar opened CDSL demat; its FAQ says an existing demat cannot be linked source | In your own existing demat; no GoldenPi DP is disclosed source |
| Minimum investment | ₹100 for government securities and ₹1,000 for corporate bonds, per its FAQ; in practice one unit of the chosen bond source | ₹10,000 for corporate bonds, ₹1,000 for FDs source |
| Fees and markup | No brokerage, account opening or maintenance charges claimed. Terms reserve the right to levy charges. Any spread in the quoted yield is not disclosed. source | No transaction charge per its FAQ. Spread inside the price is not disclosed. source |
| Yield shown as | Not disclosed on the pages checked source | Not disclosed source |
| Selling before maturity | Sell on NSE or BSE, or ask its customer service team; at market prices if a buyer exists. No buyback. source | Sell on BSE or NSE yourself, or ask GoldenPi's team to help find a buyer. No fee stated, no buyback promise. source |
| Settlement | Exchange order book or RFQ, settled through ICCL or NSE Clearing pool accounts; cycle not stated source | Through the exchange clearing corporations, T+1 or T+2 per GoldenPi source |
| Credit range on shelf | Advertised returns of 8% to 14%; a third-party review reports ratings from AAA to D source | AAA to BBB (CRISIL, ICRA, CARE, India Ratings), corporate bond yields of 8% to 14%, per GoldenPi source |
| NRI access | Not disclosed on the pages checked source | Not disclosed source |
| Play Store (India) | 4.2 from 179 ratings, read 17th Oct 2026 source | 4.1 from 125 ratings, read 17th Oct 2026 source |
| App Store (India) | 4.47 from 30 ratings, read 17th Oct 2026 source | 4.3 from 30 ratings, read 17th Oct 2026 source |
| SEBI or exchange actions | None found as of 25th Sep 2026 (third-party check) source | ₹4.5 lakh in total (₹2 lakh on the company, ₹2.5 lakh on five directors), order dated 31st Jul 2025 or reported 1st Aug 2025, for trades outside RFQ and ads run without BSE approval source |
How they differ
Custody
Bondbazaar runs a CDSL depository participant (registered 7th Jul 2022), and its FAQ says there is currently no provision to link an existing demat, so bonds sit in a demat opened through Bondbazaar. A third-party review says bonds can go to CDSL or NSDL accounts, which conflicts with the FAQ. GoldenPi settles bonds into your existing demat.
How orders execute
Bondbazaar sends orders to the NSE or BSE order book or to RFQ, and keeps client money in a wallet funded by UPI or net banking, with withdrawals within 2 working days. GoldenPi takes payment per order and credits bonds T+1 or T+2.
How they earn
Bondbazaar says customers pay no brokerage, account opening or maintenance charges, though its terms reserve the right to levy them. Its founder has said revenue comes mainly from issuer fees on new issues; a separate quote describes income from both primary and secondary business. GoldenPi says it charges no transaction fee. Neither discloses a spread.
Shelf and minimums
Bondbazaar's FAQ gives ₹100 for G-secs and ₹1,000 for corporate bonds; a third-party review says the real minimum is one unit, from about ₹1,000 to over ₹1 lakh. It covers G-secs, SDLs, corporate, tax-free and capital gains bonds, SGBs and bond IPOs, and the same review describes ratings from AAA to D. GoldenPi states AAA to BBB and bonds from ₹10,000.
Exit
Both point sellers to the exchange and their support teams. Bondbazaar says sales happen at prevailing market prices, subject to buyers.
Record
SEBI fined GoldenPi and five directors ₹4.5 lakh in 2025. No action against Bondbazaar was found as of 25th Sep 2026, per a third-party check. Bondbazaar's founder told Mint it disabled trading in TruCap before the Jul 2025 default, and a blog named GoldenPi among TruCap sellers; both are reported claims. Bondbazaar's leadership page changed by Sep 2026 without an announcement, and Oxyzo announced in May 2026 that it would buy GoldenPi.
Questions people ask
Can I link my existing demat to Bondbazaar?
Bondbazaar's FAQ says there is currently no provision to link an existing demat; bonds are held in a CDSL demat opened through Bondbazaar.
How does Bondbazaar make money if it charges no brokerage?
Its founder has said revenue comes mainly from issuer fees on new issues. A separate quote describes income from both primary and secondary business.
Are Bondbazaar and GoldenPi on both exchanges?
Yes. Bondbazaar was enabled on BSE on 10th Mar 2023 and NSE on 15th Mar 2023. GoldenPi was enabled on BSE on 19th Apr 2023, and NSE's file dates its enablement to 31st Dec 2025.
Sources
- Bondbazaar FAQs
- Bondbazaar about page
- KnowYourBrokerage Bondbazaar review (secondary source)
- Founder Thesis profile of Bondbazaar's founder, 30th Jul 2025
- GoldenPi llms.txt (updated 2nd Oct 2026)
- GoldenPi FAQ: how much does GoldenPi charge
- GoldenPi FAQ: selling before maturity
- Moneylife on SEBI's GoldenPi order, 1st Aug 2025
- Inc42 on Oxyzo's planned acquisition of GoldenPi
- Basunivesh on the TruCap default (secondary source)
- NSE list of registered OBPPs, updated as on 14th Oct 2026
- BSE OBPP member list (file dated 24th Sep 2026)