Best for
Best bond platform in India: options by need, with the criteria we check
No bond platform is best for every investor, so this page lists platforms and channels that suit different needs, in alphabetical order, and shows each against 6 checks: exchange registry status, custody, disclosed fees and exit, shelf credit by lowest rating, regulatory record and product range.
Verified
What we checked
- Registry status: enabled on NSE or active on BSE as an online bond platform (files as on 14th Oct 2026 and 24th Sep 2026), or an order and custody route run by RBI or by your own SEBI registered broker
- Custody: bonds settle into a demat or gilt account in your name; we note when it must be a demat the platform opens
- Fees and exit: what the platform discloses about its charges, its spread and its route to sell before maturity
- Shelf credit: the lowest rating we saw on live listings or in the stated range, read on 17th Oct 2026
- Regulatory record: SEBI orders found against the entity
- Product range: corporate bonds only, or also G-secs, T-bills, SDLs, SGBs, tax-free and 54EC bonds
Options that meet these criteria
Listed alphabetically. This is not a ranking.
Altifi Bond platform
Uses your own demat at NSDL or CDSL and lists municipal bonds, securitised debt and government securities alongside corporate bonds. Its revenue model and spread are not disclosed, and it describes no buyback.
GoldenPi Bond platform
A wide shelf, from corporate bonds rated AAA to BBB to G-secs, T-bills, SDLs, SGBs, tax-free and 54EC bonds, delivered into the demat you already hold. No transaction fee per its FAQ, no buyback, and a ₹4.5 lakh SEBI penalty in 2025.
Grip Invest Bond platform
A stated exit: Sell Bonds Anytime after about 2 months at a 0.25% charge, though a sale is not guaranteed. Its shelf includes securitised debt, one pool rated CRISIL BB- (SO) in Mar 2025, and NRIs cannot sign up.
Groww Broker app
Bond IPOs and RFQ bonds inside a broker app, settling into your Groww demat. No bond fee or spread is published, and on 17th Oct 2026 it listed a 16% coupon bond showing only the A- side of a split rating.
IndiaBonds Bond platform
Advertises NRI and HUF access, is active on both NSE and BSE, and lists G-secs, SGBs, tax-free and 54EC bonds. It has run its own depository participant since 2026, its terms allow fees, and its exit terms could not be read.
Jiraaf Bond platform
Uses your existing demat at any depository participant and lists G-secs and T-bills with corporate bonds and securitised debt. It does not help you sell before maturity and does not accept NRIs.
RBI Retail Direct Government channel
Government securities with no account or bid fee, held in a gilt account with RBI, with T-bill auto-bidding since 6th Aug 2025. No corporate bonds, and selling relies on NDS-OM's odd lot and RFQ segments.
Stable Bonds Bond platform
FDs and listed bonds, including PSU and state government bonds, in the Stable Money app, with a sell route whose conditions sit in its terms. Bonds go into a demat Stable opens, and it closed its BSE platform on 27th Nov 2025.
The Bond Project Exchange order tool
For buying listed bonds on the exchange order book with no spread added: it shows the exchange price and sends orders to your own Zerodha account, for ₹100 for 30 days or ₹500 a year. Zerodha only, residents only, and built by the team behind this site.
Wint Wealth Bond platform
A buy and sell-back flow in one app: Wint repurchases bonds bought on Wint at a YTM up to 1% lower, at its discretion. It requires a Wint demat, and SEBI fined it ₹1 lakh on 21st Nov 2025.
Zerodha Broker app
G-sec, T-bill and SDL bids with no fee since 1st Mar 2024, and listed bonds on the Kite order book, all in the demat that holds your shares. Its bond platform is Not enabled on NSE, so there is no RFQ shelf and no NCD IPOs.
Which option fits which need?
| If you want | Options above that fit | The catch to check |
|---|---|---|
| Bonds in the demat you already hold | Altifi, GoldenPi, Jiraaf, The Bond Project, Zerodha | No platform buyback; selling needs a buyer |
| Government securities with no fee | RBI Retail Direct, Zerodha | No corporate bonds on Retail Direct |
| A stated route to sell early | Grip Invest, Stable Bonds, Wint Wealth | Each route is conditional and none is guaranteed |
| NRI or HUF access | IndiaBonds, RBI Retail Direct | Read the account terms for your residency |
| Corporate and government bonds in one place | Altifi, GoldenPi, IndiaBonds, Jiraaf | Spread inside the price is not published |
| Bonds in a broker app you already use | Groww, Zerodha | Groww publishes no bond charges; Zerodha has no RFQ shelf |
| The exchange price with no spread | The Bond Project, Zerodha | Thin order books in many corporate bonds |
How do the options compare on the checks?
| Option | Registry | Custody | Exit | Lowest rating seen | SEBI action found |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Altifi | NSE and BSE | Your own demat | Product terms, no buyback | Not disclosed; A+ example | None |
| GoldenPi | NSE and BSE | Your own demat | Exchange or GoldenPi's help | BBB (stated range) | ₹4.5 lakh, 2025 |
| Grip Invest | NSE | Grip demat offered | 0.25% after about 2 months | BB- (SO) securitised pool | None |
| Groww | NSE and BSE | Groww demat | No sell flow published | A- shown; India Ratings had B+ on the same issuer | None bond specific |
| IndiaBonds | NSE and BSE | Own DP since 2026 | Not readable | BBB+ | None |
| Jiraaf | NSE and BSE | Your own demat | None offered | Not disclosed | None |
| RBI Retail Direct | Run by RBI | Gilt account with RBI | NDS-OM | Sovereign or state | Not applicable |
| Stable Bonds | NSE only | Stable demat | Conditional sell anytime | Not shown on cards | None |
| The Bond Project | Not an OBPP; orders via Zerodha | Your Zerodha demat | Exchange order book | No curated shelf | Not a SEBI intermediary |
| Wint Wealth | NSE only | Wint demat | Sell-back at Wint's discretion | Not disclosed; BBB+ reported | ₹1 lakh, 21st Nov 2025 |
| Zerodha | OBPP Not enabled on NSE | Your Zerodha demat | Exchange order book | No curated shelf | None bond specific |
"None" means our research found no order, not that none exists; exchange disciplinary lists were not searched. Sources for each row are on the linked profiles and below.
Why is there no ranking?
No specialist platform publishes its markup per bond, and SEBI's mandatory disclosures for bond platforms have no line for the platform's own spread (SEBI NCS Master Circular). A higher yield on a shelf usually means lower credit, not a better platform. From about 21st Nov 2026 every OBPP must show a Credit Risk-o-Meter built on the lowest available rating (SEBI circular). SEBI registration covers the intermediary, not the issuer; see which is the best and safest bond platform and what an OBPP is.
Where to go next
Narrower lists: government bonds and T-bills, small tickets, selling before maturity, NRI investors, 54EC bonds and keeping your existing demat. Head to head: GoldenPi vs IndiaBonds, Stable Bonds vs Wint Wealth, GoldenPi vs Stable Bonds and IndiaBonds vs Zerodha. The team behind this site also builds The Bond Project; see our disclosures.
Questions people ask
Which is the best bond platform in India?
None is best for every investor. The right one depends on what you want to buy, whether you want bonds in your existing demat, and whether you may need to sell early; this page lists options for each need in alphabetical order.
Do any bond platforms publish their spread?
No specialist platform publishes its markup per bond, and SEBI's disclosure list for bond platforms has no line for it. Comparing the same ISIN across platforms or with the exchange order book is the only way to see it.
Is a SEBI registered bond platform safe?
Registration covers how the platform handles your orders, money and settlement. It does not cover whether the company whose bond you buy will pay, so check each bond's lowest rating and whether it is secured.
Why is The Bond Project on this list?
It is one way to buy listed bonds at the exchange price, through your own Zerodha account, with no spread added. The team behind this site also builds it, which is stated on our disclosures page.
Sources
- SEBI page on online bond platform providers
- NSE list of registered OBPPs, as on 14th Oct 2026
- BSE OBPP member list (file dated 24th Sep 2026)
- SEBI NCS Master Circular, 15th Oct 2025
- SEBI Credit Risk-o-Meter circular, 7th Oct 2026
- Altifi homepage
- Altifi bond page, Aye Finance INE501X07745
- GoldenPi llms.txt (updated 2nd Oct 2026)
- GoldenPi FAQ: how much does GoldenPi charge
- Moneylife on SEBI's GoldenPi order, 1st Aug 2025
- Grip FAQ: Sell Bonds Anytime
- CRISIL rating rationale, PIRG SDI 4 Trust, 12th Mar 2025
- Groww bonds page
- Groww listing, Hella Infra Market INE06E507579
- India Ratings on Hella Infra Market, 1st Oct 2026
- IndiaBonds homepage
- IndiaBonds terms and conditions
- Jiraaf FAQ
- RBI press release on RBI Retail Direct
- Business Standard: RBI Retail Direct T-bill auto-bidding, 6th Aug 2025
- Stable Bonds terms and conditions
- The Bond Project pricing
- The Bond Project help and FAQs
- Wint Wealth terms and conditions
- SEBI adjudication order on Fourdegreewater Services, 21st Nov 2025
- TradingQnA: Zerodha staff on G-sec bid fees
- TradingQnA: Zerodha staff on bonds and bond IPOs, 18th Apr 2026