Bond platform
Grip Invest review
Grip Invest suits investors who want a stated early exit: its Sell Bonds Anytime feature works after about 2 months for a 0.25% charge, though a sale is not guaranteed. The catches: its shelf includes securitised lease and loan pools, some of which have run into lessee defaults and delays, and NRIs cannot sign up.
Verified
Grip Invest official site We earn nothing from this link.
Key facts
- Legal entity
- Grip Broking Pvt Ltd (CIN U67120DL2023PTC410290) source
- Group or backers
- Grip's FAQ calls the parent both Grip Invest Advisors Pvt Ltd and Grip Invest Technologies Pvt Ltd (conflict). Series B of about $10m led by Stride Ventures, dated Jan 2024 by CB Insights. reported source
- SEBI registration
- INZ000312836 (stock broker), NSE member 90319; also AMFI ARN-315995 for mutual funds source
- NSE OBPP status
- Enabled since 29th Aug 2023 (list as on 14th Oct 2026) source
- BSE OBPP status
- Not listed (file dated 24th Sep 2026) source
- Where your bonds sit
- A demat is required; you can open one at onboarding with Grip's own NSDL DP (DP ID IN304877). Non-Grip demats are supported for sells. source
- Minimum investment
- Conflicting: ₹1,000 (platform overview) vs ₹100 (corporate bonds FAQ). Some bonds have ₹10,000 or ₹1,00,000 face value. Corporate FDs from ₹1,000. source
- Fees and markup
- No fee stated on buys; any spread is not disclosed. 0.25% charge on Sell Bonds Anytime, adjusted in the price offered. source
- Yield shown as
- Not disclosed (site headline: up to 12.5% returns) source
- Selling before maturity
- Sell Bonds Anytime after a minimum holding of about 2 months, 0.25% charge, settles in 1 working day; Grip cannot guarantee an immediate sale source
- Settlement
- NSE and/or BSE RFQ through the clearing corporation. Pay by 4:30pm on T (net banking), 4:30pm on T+1 (UPI) or 2:30pm on T+1 (NEFT/RTGS). source
- Credit range on shelf
- Rating range not disclosed. SDIs have included a CRISIL BB- (SO) lease pool (Mar 2025). source
- NRI access
- Not allowed source
- Play Store (India)
- 4.5 from 2,329 ratings, read 17th Oct 2026 source
- App Store (India)
- 4.42 from 93 ratings, read 17th Oct 2026 source
- SEBI or exchange actions
- None found as of 17th Oct 2026 (search not exhaustive; NSE and BSE disciplinary lists not checked) reported source
Sells: Corporate bondsSecuritised debtFDs
Suits
- Investors who want a stated exit route after about 2 months
- Investors interested in securitised lease, loan and invoice products
- Investors who want the option of keeping a non-Grip demat for sells
Watch out for
- NRIs cannot open an account
- Several lease and SDI deals have hit lessee defaults or delays
- Minimum investment stated as both ₹100 and ₹1,000
- Spread on purchases is not disclosed
- No phone support; email replies take 24 to 48 business hours
Is Grip Invest safe?
Grip Broking is a SEBI registered stock broker (INZ000312836) enabled as an online bond platform on NSE since 29th Aug 2023, and no SEBI or exchange penalty against it was found as of 17th Oct 2026; a review site says the same as of Jul 2026. Check the entity on the registry. Registration says nothing about the credit of what is sold, and Grip's shelf includes securitised lease and loan pools (are bond platforms safe).
Grip has described its record as a zero default rate (self-reported). The lease and SDI history below shows payouts that were delayed or protected by collateral, so read that claim with the dates in mind. Support is by email and in-app chat only, with replies in 24 to 48 business hours. From about 21st Nov 2026 every OBPP must show SEBI's Credit Risk-o-Meter using the lowest available rating.
What do you actually pay on Grip Invest?
Grip states no fee on purchases; its FAQ promises no hidden fees and what you see is what you get, but any spread built into the price is not disclosed. The one published charge is 0.25% when you use Sell Bonds Anytime, which is adjusted in the price the buyer offers.
Because the buy price carries an unknown margin, the only check is to compare the same ISIN across platforms (same bond, different yield). Grip reported about ₹8 cr of operating income and about ₹30 cr of net loss in FY25 (Venture Intelligence).
Can you sell Grip bonds before maturity?
Yes, after a minimum holding of about 2 months, through Sell Bonds Anytime: the sale settles in 1 working day and carries the 0.25% charge. Grip says it cannot guarantee an immediate sale, so the feature is a route to a buyer, not a buyback promise. Bonds held in a non-Grip demat can also be sold this way. See can I sell a bond before maturity and platforms for selling before maturity.
Where do your bonds sit?
In a demat in your name. Grip requires one and lets you open it at onboarding with its own NSDL depository participant (DP ID IN304877, registration IN-DP-809-2025); other demats are supported for sells. Orders settle on the NSE and/or BSE RFQ through the clearing corporation, and Grip says it does not hold investor funds. Payment cut-offs are 4:30pm on T for net banking, 4:30pm on T+1 for UPI and 2:30pm on T+1 for NEFT or RTGS. See are the bonds in my own demat.
What kind of bonds does it sell?
Listed corporate bonds, securitised debt instruments (LoanX, InvoiceX, LeaseX and BondX), debt mutual funds and corporate FDs. Grip launched the first privately placed bonds with a ₹10,000 face value in Aug 2024 and says it listed the first SDI on NSE in Oct 2022. It lists no G-secs, T-bills or SGBs.
The minimum is stated two ways: ₹1,000 in the platform overview and ₹100 in the corporate bonds FAQ, which adds that some bonds have ₹10,000 or ₹1,00,000 face value (minimum investment). KYC is fully digital, but NRIs are not allowed (can NRIs buy bonds). Business Standard reported that SEBI moved on 5th May 2025 to require demat-only SDIs with a ₹1 crore minimum ticket in most cases; we have not verified the circular.
Which Grip deals have run into trouble?
Several lease and SDI deals sold on Grip have hit stress, as dated facts:
- BigSpoon lease, Sep 2023: the cloud kitchen missed rent due 4th Sep 2023 and Grip filed FIRs and started civil action. Forbes India reported on 30th May 2024 that Grip investors missed no payments because of the security held.
- BluSmart LeaseX: a BB+ rated securitised lease of BluSmart cars at a 14% yield was on sale from Sep 2023 (Forbes India). BluSmart defaulted on ₹30 cr of bonds in Feb 2025. We found no Grip disclosure on the lease's outcome.
- PIRG SDI 4 Trust: CRISIL reaffirmed it at BB- (SO) on 12th Mar 2025, with ₹4.02 cr outstanding and maturity on 28th Dec 2025. One lessee (8.7% of receivables) had paid nothing for 19 months, using 32.8% of cash collateral, and the Grip-affiliated originator Vriksh Advisors had a negative net worth of ₹9.21 cr in Dec 2024. CRISIL states no investor payout miss.
- AGS Transact ATM lease SDI: AGS disclosed principal defaults (an ECB default dated 10th Feb 2025). An investor's blog reports that payouts on Grip's ATM lease SDI were delayed and that the trustee issued an NOC on 20th Jun 2025 after the ATMs were sold to a bank for about ₹3.37 cr. AGS was reportedly admitted to insolvency on 25th Aug 2025.
- TruCap Finance: a blog dated 24th Jul 2025 named Grip among platforms that sold TruCap NCDs (reported). CARE cut TruCap to D on 18th Jul 2025, and six ISINs were fully redeemed with penal interest by 23rd Sep 2025.
Questions people ask
Is Grip Invest SEBI registered?
Yes. Grip Broking Pvt Ltd holds SEBI stock broker registration INZ000312836 and has been enabled as an online bond platform on NSE since 29th Aug 2023. It is not on BSE's OBPP list.
Has SEBI penalised Grip Invest?
No SEBI or exchange penalty against Grip Broking was found as of 17th Oct 2026. The search was not exhaustive.
Can you sell Grip bonds before maturity?
Yes, through Sell Bonds Anytime after a minimum holding of about 2 months. It carries a 0.25% charge and settles in 1 working day, but Grip says it cannot guarantee an immediate sale.
Does Grip Invest charge fees?
Grip states no fee on purchases, but any spread inside the price is not disclosed. Selling through Sell Bonds Anytime costs 0.25%, adjusted in the price.
Can NRIs invest on Grip Invest?
No. Grip's sign-up FAQ says NRIs are not allowed.
Have any Grip deals defaulted?
Several lease and SDI deals hit stress, including a BigSpoon lease in Sep 2023, a CRISIL BB- (SO) lease pool with a non-paying lessee in Mar 2025, and a delayed AGS Transact ATM lease SDI in 2025. Grip self-reports a zero default rate.
Sources
- Grip FAQ: Sell Bonds Anytime
- Grip FAQ: platform overview
- Grip FAQ: RFQ
- Grip FAQ: sign-up and KYC
- Grip FAQ: help and support
- Grip FAQ: corporate bonds
- Grip FAQ: corporate FDs
- NSE list of registered OBPPs (as on 14th Oct 2026)
- BSE OBPP member list (file dated 24th Sep 2026)
- CRISIL rating rationale, PIRG SDI 4 Trust, 12th Mar 2025
- CARE Ratings on TruCap Finance, 18th Jul 2025
- Catalyst Trusteeship TruCap status report, 23rd Oct 2025
- Forbes India on Grip Invest, 30th May 2024
- YourStory on Grip action against BigSpoon
- Outlook Business on BluSmart bondholders
- MarketScreener on AGS Transact default
- Random Dimes Grip Invest review (AGS NOC)
- M&A Critique on AGS Transact insolvency
- Basunivesh on the TruCap default
- Business Standard on Grip ₹10,000 face value bonds
- Business Standard on SEBI SDI minimum ticket
- CXOToday on Grip SDI listing
- CXOToday on Grip OBPP licence
- CB Insights on Grip Invest
- Venture Intelligence on Grip Invest financials
- KnowYourBrokerage Grip Invest review
- Grip Invest on Google Play
- Grip Invest on the App Store (India)